
MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT 

AMENDED RULES FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS I 
A-9 

WHEREAS, Minnesota does not have an integrated bar, but does have an active and effective 
voluntary bar association in which a large percentage of all active attorneys at law practicing 
in this state are members, and 

WHEREAS, in the past the expenses of conducting examinations for admissions to the practice 
of law and the expenses incident to conducting disciplinary proceedings were paid in part by a 
biennial appropriation of the legislature out of the general tax sources of the state; in part 
by a fee exacted from applicants for admission to the bar; and in part by contributions received 
from the State Bar Association, and 

WHEREAS, it is improper to accept money for these purposes either from the genera? tax 
sources of the state or from contributions of a voluntary bar association that does not include 
as members all practicing attorneys of the state as these obligations ought, of right, to be borne 
by all members of the bar, whether associated with the State Bar Association or not, and 

WHEREAS, it is desirable that a current list of those who are authorized to practice law 
in this state be maintained, 

NOW THEREFORE, by virtue of and under the inherent power of this court to regulate the 
practice of law in this state, these rules are adopted in order that there may be on file annually 
a current List of all those authorized to practice Law in this state and in order that the expenses 
of conducting examinations for admissions to the bar and conducting disciplinary proceedings may 
be borne by all attorneys-at-law authorized to practice law in this state. 

1. Admission to the bar of the State of Minnesota, disciplinary proceedings, and continuing 
Legal education for members of the Legal profession shall be conducted according to rules promulagated 
by this court. 

2. In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigations for admission to 
the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such 
admission, with exceptions hereinafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to practice Ldw in 
this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to practice as a 
prerequisite to holding office shall, three years after their first admission annually pay to the 
Clerk of the Appellate Courts a registration fee of Sixty-six Dollars ($66.00), payable as follows: 

(1) Attorneys whose last name begins with the Letter A-E, before January 1; 

(2) Attorneys whose last name begins with the letter F-K, before April 1; 

(3) Attorneys whose last name begins with the letter L-P, before July 1; 

(4) Attorneys whose last name begins with the letter Q-Z, before October 1; 

The Sixty-six Dollars ($66.00) so received shall be allocated as follows: 

$ 7.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 

$ 5.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

$54.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board. 

The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual registration fee of Twenty-three 
Dollars ($23.00) : I 

(a) Any attorney or judge whole permanent residence is outside the State of Minnesota 
who does not practice law within this state; 

(b) Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years; I 

(c) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States; 



. 
The Twenty-three Dollars ($23.00) so received shall be allocated as follows; 

$ 7.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 

$ 5.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

$11.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board. 

Any attorney who files annually with the Clerk of the Appellate Courts an affidavit that he 
is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, that he is not engaged in the 
active practice of law, and that he does not serve as a judge shall be fee-exempt. Anv attorney 
claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes active practice of law 
shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the cLerk.of the Appellate Courts and 
pay the annual registrations fee. 

Any judge who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, who no longer 
serves on the bench or practices Law, and who files annually with the Clerk of the Appellate Courts 
an affidavit that his is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be 
placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. A judge claiming retired or 
permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes service on the bench or the active practice 
of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the Clerk of the Appellate Courts 
and pay the annual registration fee. 

3. Upon failure to pay such fee, 
automatically suspended, 

the right to practice law in this state shall be 
and no individual shall be authorized to practice law in this state 

or to in any manner hold himself out as qualified or authorized to practice law while in default 
in the payment of such registrations fee. Any individual who shall violate this rule shall be 
subject to all the penalties and remedies provided by law for the unauthorized practice of Law 
in the State of Minnesota. It shall be the duty of each member of the judiciary to enjoin persons 
from appearing and practicing in his court whose failure to register has come to the attention of 
such court. 

4. Annually one month prior to due date, the Clerk of the Appellate Courts shall mail to 
each individual then authorized to practice law, 
last known address, 

who has not paid such registration fee, at his 

ensuing year. 
a statement showing the amount of the registration fee required for the next 

Failure to receive such notice shall not excuse payment of such fee. Every 
attorney-at-law shall immediately notify the clerk of this court of any change of address. 

5. The right to practice law may be reinstated by the court after suspension upon application 
and upon the payment of all delinquent registration fees and the additional sum of Five Dollars 
($5 .oo>. This court may, in hardship cases, waive payment of delinquent fees. 

6. Upon payment of the registration fee the Clerk of the Appellate Courts shall issue and 
deliver to the person paying the same a certificate in such form as may be provided by this court, 
showing that such individual is an attorney-at-law in good standing and authorized to practice 
in the State of Minnesota. 

7. All mone 
fee as provided z 

collected from applicants for admission to the bar or as an annual registration 
erein shall be deposited by the clerk in a special fund, as desired by this 

court, and shall be disbursed therefrom only upon vouchers signed by a member of this court. 

8. Nothing herein shall prevent any court in this state from granting special permission 
to nonresident counsel to appear and participate in a particular action or proceeding in 
association with an authorized attorney of this state. 

DATED: February 10, 1983 

BY THE COURT 
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